John 14:22-23: Why us and not everyone else?

John 14:22-23
Judas saith unto him, not Iscariot, Lord, how is it that thou wilt manifest thyself unto us, and not unto the world? Jesus answered and said unto him, If a man love me, he will keep my words: and my Father will love him, and we will come unto him, and make our abode with him.

If Christians realized the ramifications of Christ’s response to Thaddeus, it would shine a new light on their view of human responsibility in light of God’s sovereignty. Why? Well, for one, the if-then statement that follows seems to suggest that obedience is necessary to initiate the permanent indwelling of the Sovereign.

IF ( a man loves me ~ he will keep my words)
THEN (my Father will love him, and we will come unto him, and make our abode with him)

I’m sure this answer must confuse Calvinist as they would probably have expected Christ to respond with something along the lines of: “I’m revealing myself to you because I have elected you and not the world” or “If a man is regenerated then he will love me and keep my words then …”

2 thoughts on “John 14:22-23: Why us and not everyone else?

Leave a Reply

