Jesus always spoke to the multitudes in parables…

Matthew 13:34-35
All these things spake Jesus unto the multitude in parables; and without a parable spake he not unto them: That it might be fulfilled which was spoken by the prophet, saying, I will open my mouth in parables; I will utter things which have been kept secret from the foundation of the world.

Mark 4:34
But without a parable spake he not unto them: and when they were alone, he expounded all things to his disciples.

In John 6:2 we read about a multitude that is opportune to hear Jesus utter the following words:

Verse 35: I am the bread of life (from heaven): he that comes to me shall never hunger; and he that believes on me shall never thirst.
Verse 51: I am the living bread which came down from heaven: if any man eat of this bread, he shall live for ever: and the bread that I will give is my flesh, which I will give for the life of the world
Verse 53: Except ye eat the flesh of the Son of man, and drink his blood, ye have no life in you
Verse 56: He that eateth my flesh, and drinketh my blood, dwelleth in me, and I in him
Verse 63: It is the spirit that quickeneth; the flesh profits nothing: the words that I speak unto you, [they] are spirit, and [they] are life.

So, in light of the above, the question we should ask ourselves is:

Was Jesus speaking parabolically?

Without answering the question, lets remember that after Jesus noticed that some in the audience were offended by his words, he explained that his words were of a spiritual nature (verse 63); and thus not dealing with the fleshly or earthly realm.

After all, we know that heaven and earth shall pass away but the word of God abideth forever (Mat 24:35).

Leave a Reply

